Manshouen (満正苑 )

I recently discovered that Manshouen in Yojiro is the original restaurant of a chain of Chinese restaurants located around Kagoshima city. You might have seen the sign or even dined at the Kagoshima Chuo station location, but I can only speak for the restaurant located around the corner from Nishimuta and Yonemori Hospital in Yojiro. If you don’t have a car, this is location is a bit off the beaten track, but if you just so happen to be in the Kamoike/Yojiro area, perhaps going for a swim at Kamoike pool, joining a sports event at Kamoike stadium, or a concert at Bunka Hall, then this restaurant is right around the corner.

The main reason I visited this restaurant is because I was seeking out an authentic Szechuan-style mapo tofu/マーボー豆腐 (meaning I wanted something SPICY) and a friend recommended this place. I was skeptical at first and might have lowered my expectations because I’ve been to a few Chinese restaurants around Kagoshima city that really aren’t comparable to anything I had on my visits to China, but I do think this restaurant has the best mapo tofu in the city.

Of course, on this specific occasion I only took a picture of the low mein noodle dish that arrived before the main event so you’ll have to take my word on this, the mapo tofu is good, until I visit this restaurant again.

This restaurant is a good option for a filling meal on a budget. The menu doesn’t change from lunch to dinner and you can stuff yourself for just under 900 JPY. It’s worth a shot.

 

Leave a Reply

