Issaku(一昨)

I can honestly say that I have been to a lot of Japanese restaurants around Japan, having traveled everywhere in between from Hokkaido to Okinawa, and I am pretty sure that I’ve never tried any of the dishes that I had at Issaku, ever. This was a first time dining experience for me and I would recommend this place to people who like new flavors and shellfish. Unfortunately for me, I am not a huge fan of shellfish in general so the flavor of each dish might have been lost on me but I still thoroughly enjoyed the beauty of this meal As you’ll see in the pictures below, there are so many mini dishes! I swear, this kitchen must be a miniature collector’s dream.

This is very much a “washoku” or traditional Japanese cuisine restaurant. All of the dishes were lightly flavored, colorful and a feast for the eyes. I’ll say it again, my favorite part of this meal probably was the presentation, you can just tell how much care was taken to prepare each individual dish. This restaurant is expensive but if you really consider how much food you get, it’s not bad at all (look how many dishes I ended up with!) Expect to spend at least 6,ooo JPY/person for a course menu plus whatever you spend on drinks. The good part about this is that you can easily spend two or so hours in your own private room without feeling rushed, but that price, oof. For those of you who are content with a 1,000 or 2,000 JPY meal of typical Japanese foods, this is pricy, but a very unique dining experience. Definitely worth trying once.

Leave a Reply

